When was the first national election in the Philippines?

The first presidential election in which the presidency of the Philippines was at stake was on January 1, 1899, when the Malolos Congress elected Aguinaldo as president. The first presidential election via a direct election was on September 16, 1935 where Aguinaldo was defeated by Manuel L. Quezon.

Who won the first Philippine national election?

1935 Philippine presidential election

Nominee Manuel Quezon Emilio Aguinaldo
Party Nacionalista National Socialist
Running mate Sergio Osmeña Raymundo Melliza
Popular vote 695,332 179,349
Percentage 67.99% 17.54%

When was the first national election?

Elected President

The 1788–89 United States presidential election was the first quadrennial presidential election. It was held from Monday, December 15, 1788, to Saturday, January 10, 1789, under the new Constitution ratified in 1788.

Who was elected as the President during 1965 election?

1965 Philippine presidential election

Nominee Ferdinand E. Marcos Diosdado Macapagal
Party Nacionalista Liberal
Running mate Fernando Lopez Gerardo M. Roxas
Popular vote 3,861,324 3,187,752
Percentage 51.94% 42.88%

Who won as president in the 1935 election?

The Nacionalista Party, which was split into two camps supporting Manuel L. Quezon and Sergio Osmeña, and reconciled prior to the election, maintained its electoral superiority, with Quezon winning the presidency, Osmeña the vice presidency, and majority of the National Assembly seats.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  What terminal is citilink in Jakarta?

Who is the first president in the Philippines?

There have been 15 Presidents of the Philippines from the establishment of the office on January 23, 1899, in the Malolos Republic. President Emilio Aguinaldo is the inaugural holder of the office and held the position until March 23, 1901, when he was captured by the Americans during the Philippine-American War.

Who won the election of 1796?

Incumbent Vice President John Adams of the Federalist Party defeated former Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson of the Democratic-Republican Party.

When was the two-party system created?

Although the Founding Fathers of the United States did not originally intend for American politics to be partisan, early political controversies in the 1790s saw the emergence of a two-party political system, the Federalist Party and the Democratic-Republican Party, centred on the differing views on federal government …

Who won the President in 1965?

Incumbent Democratic United States President Lyndon B. Johnson defeated Barry Goldwater, the Republican nominee. With 61.1% of the popular vote, Johnson won the largest share of the popular vote of any candidate since the largely uncontested 1820 election.

How many years was the Philippines under martial law?

At 7:17 pm on September 21, 1972, President Ferdinand Marcos announced that he had placed the entirety of the Philippines under martial law. This marked the beginning of a 14-year period of one-man rule which would effectively last until Marcos was exiled from the country on February 24, 1986.

Rest in hot countries